Looking Beyond …

thoughts and deliberations .. a theme is too restrictive

Risk Taking

8 Comments

Writing to an undiscovered audience is clearly not the same as writing to an imaginary audience.  There are certain difficulties to face, especially, if like me you are not a risk taker and you value other people’s opinions of you to an unhealthy extreme.

Having decided to blog about my experiences of looking for a complete change in work direction, I face my first problem.  Much of what I would like to say – for example the anecdotes that make for interesting reading – might not be wise to publish. Being an analyst by nature means I feel the need to undertake full scale research projects not just on the risks of libel, but also on how to win friends and influence people, creative writing, the technicalities and merits of comparative platforms for blogging, wise use of social media, good use of grammar and punctuation and much more.  This is the kind of thinking that so frequently leads me to the conclusion that no action is the safest form of action.

Whilst typing even this first blog post, the temptation not to take the risk and publish is great.  The radio blares out sports debate and I am being asked for advice in culinary matters.  Concentration and distractions are problematic.  Perfectionism rears its ugly head.  A certain amount of resentment even enters into the mix as I realise that in the time I have taken to dither about blogging my experiences, my son woke up one morning, beat me to it and competently created a blog and posted intelligently twice.  Without any introspection evident whatsoever!

If this resonates with you, here is my first tip.  Risk taking is necessary.  No one grew up without taking risks. No one learned anything useful without making some mistakes along the way.  If you are looking for change and you are not a risk taker you will dream and possibly plan, but change only comes about through action.

So this week, I handed in my notice at a job I have been doing for eight and a half years. This was not without careful planning and preparation, but for me – a long standing low risk expert – it marks a significant step to a change in attitude that will allow the journey on which I am embarking to take place.

Join me on the journey as I journal and reflect.  Your comments, suggestions and feedback are welcome.

 

Image

 

 

Author: HelenSaying

Dipped a toe in social media - now learning to swim. Otherwise engaged in mid life career change, but this is no crisis. Views all my own and of the moment.

8 thoughts on “Risk Taking

  1. Your son may have shown no signs of introspection, but he hasn’t written anything about himself don’t forget. It’s far more difficult to lay your heart on the line publicly than to publish about a subject that doesn’t affect you directly.

    Like

  2. Helen i just loved reading your blogs. You have me hooked. Cant wait for you next ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I’m going to be a fan of your blog, I just know it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I look forward to reading your thoughts on a range of ‘issues’ Helen. Good luck both for your blog and your year of discovery.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. One post is a step in the right direction. You can always write a draft, save it then a few hours later or the following day come back and re-read it.

    I have no idea who reads my blog even now so I sort of imagine a friend of mine and imagine I am writing to them.

    If it’s one image in the post I would suggest putting it at the top of the post – unless it specifically needs to come later. We can chat more by email or in person 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is really well written Helen! I shall be following with interest!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

