Looking Beyond …

thoughts and deliberations .. a theme is too restrictive

Post it?

1 Comment

11021149_10153184687797848_3581808430021855347_n

I have had several discussions lately about the purpose of writing this blog.  I tend to think that a person’s full motivation in things are difficult to uncover and I do question myself each time I post – none more than today.  Aside of all the acceptable motivations that I claim, it does sometimes feel like the equivalent of wondering around with no clothes on.

Rather amusing then, to find that as I had been pondering the ‘to post or not to post’ question, the allotted task of the day involved the distribution of Post it notes. The idea was to  leave behind a trail of encouragement but as I read this, whilst attempting to enter the waking world this morning, I began to question the motivation of even the task.  It seemed like a pretty gimmicky  thing to do, and possibly more aimed at the satisfaction and titilation of the poster than the true encouragement of the reader.

In an attempt to overcome my sceptical thoughts I decided that it was high time my husband received a bit of the 40acts encouragement and managed to squeeze a hastily written cheery post it note into his lunch box.  I think it was appreciated but the question “am I a recipient of an ‘act’? rather told me what I needed to know. Such things need to be spontaneous.  I am afraid that the only post it notes that got written subsequently were the scribbled notes from the various conversations I had with hospital wards and care homes.

At the end of the day, I am back up North amidst the scenario consequent upon the seven hour hospital wait that occurred last week –  dealing with another emergency.  I’m not sure that I have managed to encourage anyone today but I have been encouraged  by others.

Perhaps it would be encouraging to record that?

I have been encouraged by an understanding husband and an understanding boss both of whom didn’t bat an eyelid at me turning round and heading off just a couple of days after I had arrived back.  I have been encouraged by prayerful and caring friends who I am so fortunate to have around me always ready with the right words and offers of support. I have been encouraged by the thoughtful neighbours of my family who often jump in when there is a crisis (and we seem to have more than our fair share!)  and I have been encouraged by hospital staff who took time and trouble to understand a complex situation, call me back even when the patient was no longer on the ward, and locate some missing paper work that had been mislaid in the drama.

So I decided to post it, just as it was.

Author: HelenSaying

Dipped a toe in social media - now learning to swim. Otherwise engaged in mid life career change, but this is no crisis. Views all my own and of the moment.

One thought on “Post it?

  1. Echoing my thoughts – not yet written – about the Post It Act… And yes, it IS encouraging to read how much you appreciate the generosity of others towards you as much as how you have been generous to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

