Looking Beyond …

thoughts and deliberations .. a theme is too restrictive

Seeking ….. GSOH

4 Comments

daff

This post could go anywhere.  It has been written many times in my head space, each time with different content, emphasis, direction and quirky title.  It has been my last ever post, a beautiful poem, a heartfelt plea and a steady commentary.  And now, it will be what it will be.  It is getting towards late, on a Sunday night, it feels simply like it is now, or never.

My theme continues to be 40Acts.  Several more Acts have slipped by since I found myself hanging by a thread. We are, indeed, past half way.  Perseverance, being somewhat of a life theme for me, has paid off and I feel pretty much on track again.

The problem with blogging alongside Acting, is that the writing about the act can become more of a deal than the doing of the act, hence the written pieces in my head space.  This in no way represents my purpose of participating in the acts, and so I contemplated the over dramatic finale.

So lets just run through some of the things that I have been ticking off the list – a bumper crop on Friday as I finally got round to the supermarket shop. BOGOF deals seem to have had their day, but I was able to find creative and self satisfying alternatives which ended in a shopping haul quite unlike my standard weekly shop.  It was worryingly enjoyable to have an excuse to use up all those money off vouchers that would normally sit around for weeks only to be binned, and instead purchase items for the food bank;. to pick up the half price and sale items on stationary, and children’s items to stock up for the Samaritans Purse Shoe Boxes; and to even buy frivolous mini packaged cereal boxes in the hope of raising a smile from my homecoming son more used to a diet of sensible, nutritional and economical fare.

The mini cereals were part of my approach to dealing with Friday’s challenge to be silly.  It is probably about as silly as I will ever get!  Because seriously, I had real problems with this challenge. Don’t get me wrong, I am up for a laugh but I am more likely to fall about laughing at something that was never intended to be funny, or something that just happens to touch an undisclosed experience or thought that I have been carrying with me through the years, than any comic relief kind of attempt to raise a smile.  In emphasis of my disdain for contrived silliness, I was actually quite alarmed to confront the uncomfortable and miserable looking persons wearing towering daffodil imitation hats at the entrance to the supermarket collecting money for Marie Curie Cancer research.

Instead of silliness, I sought to achieve a more light hearted attitude to the day.  This worked for me, put a bit of a spring in my step and along the way I was able to notch off a few of the previously undone 40Acts tasks.

So this last week, against the odds, I have at times spoken to strangers, switched off my technological connections with the outside world, shopped for the benefit of others, got a little closer to one or two people I wouldn’t normally stop to acknowledge and also had a bit of fun.

I’m still a little worried about my sense of humour, and haven’t quite pulled off the apology task, but who knows what next week will bring?

Author: HelenSaying

Dipped a toe in social media - now learning to swim. Otherwise engaged in mid life career change, but this is no crisis. Views all my own and of the moment.

4 thoughts on “Seeking ….. GSOH

  1. Bless you Helen – so often you seem to catch my mood/feelings about 40 Acts so much better than I can myself!! Sometimes I am thinking about “How can I blog this” rather than the Act itself…which is why I’ve decided NOT to blog about everything I do for 40 Acts. It seems almost like boasting – Hey, look what I’ve done! See what I’ve spent/ given up etc for other people. I continue to think about what you’re up to, & always look forward to your posts. Take care & God bless xx

    Like

    • Alison, I’m so glad you are enjoying my season of posting. No way can I keep it up..I have no idea how people manage to keep their blogs updated week after week, month after month, year after year. Wishing you all the best with your continued Acts too.

      Like

  2. You have nothing to worry about in regard to your sense of humour Helen. Every funny person needs a straight side kick right? We have always enjoyed a lot of laughs with the Hall family, (Note I said “With” not “At”) Love you all X

    Like

Leave a Reply

